When people just don’t get it

One of the things all entrepreneurs have to deal with are the negative reactions to their ventures.  Some people you tell about your idea will understand and buy in right away; however there are always those who just won’t get it.  I find the latter group to typically include the people closest to the founder(s).

I have a contact that I told about GoGrabLunch very early on.  He seemed to like the idea and took the time to create an account (and subsequently ask me for an introduction to an attorney he saw on the site), however he has yet to participate in a networking lunch.

Frankly, that is disappointing.  One reason is that I have considered him a mentor for a long time.  But more importantly he is a huge proponent of networking.  A fair amount of my networking knowledge has been gained from this one person.  So when I support his ventures and recommend them to others wouldn’t reciprocation be normal?

Cue the attorney in me – it…come on you know the rest…depends.  At the very least he has allowed me to present my idea to his network of people.  I suppose all things in time.

GoGrabLunch with someone new.

About Jonathan Patrick

GoGrabLunch.com connects like-minded business professionals over face to face, one on one appointments based on each member's preferences.

Posted on December 8, 2010, in Competition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

