If I could show you a way to…

 

If/then statements: =if(condition, then do this, else do this)

 

I am seeing a new twist on this well-known sales technique.  What makes me sad is that it is being abused.  The most common I see these days is on Twitter.  It goes something like “if I could show you how to get x number of followers…” or “if I could show you how to make x amount of money by doing nothing…”. And we wonder why legitimate sales professionals can  be looked down upon.  One bad apple as the saying goes.

If you don’t know the rest of the technique it is quite simple.  If I could show you a way to <insert issue>  would you be willing to <insert solution>.  If I could show you a way to lose 10 lbs. would you be interested?  If I could show you a way to make more money would you be willing to work 10 more hours in a week?  Ok, I swore I wouldn’t do this but…it depends.  But it does I swear!

What it depends on is how much effort and/or risk the solution will take in comparison to the return.  For instance I believe that is why some people are not using our site yet to meet new contacts.  Unlike social media where it takes little effort on a members part to connect (I would argue you aren’t really connecting), with GoGrabLunch you have to commit (ah bad words) at least thirty minutes to an hour of your time.  And get this…you have to commit to actually talking to a person through an avenue other than a keyboard.  In the words of Pocoyo, “run away Pato!” (I have a two-year old so be patient).

Enough carton quotes.  If I could show you a way to meet other business professionals that you have never met, using times in your schedule that might normally be wasted, for no cost would that interest you?  If the answer is yes then GoGrabLunch with someone this week.  Otherwise get back to your keyboard…

 

About Jonathan Patrick

GoGrabLunch.com connects like-minded business professionals over face to face, one on one appointments based on each member's preferences.

Posted on December 9, 2010, in Networking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

