“What are you selling?” she says

I was sitting at a lunch table with a group of people that were all attending an event. Mid bite the woman across from me says, “What are you selling?”.

If you know me well enough you know how I answered this. But before we get there let me share the successes I had at the event.

I didn’t sell a thing. What I did was meet some new professionals and share with them what I do, how I do it differently, and how that can benefit them. There were a lot of people attempting to sell things, quite forcefully in fact. Now back to my response.

After a moment of reflection I looked up from my sandwich and let the other party know that I don’t sell anything. I informed her that I was simply at the event to meet some new contacts and see i there was a way we can grow our businesses together. And the kicker? I meant it.

Stop selling. Start sharing. Stop seeing others as conTRACTS.

Have lunch with someone new today at GoGrabLunch.com.

About Jonathan Patrick

GoGrabLunch.com connects like-minded business professionals over face to face, one on one appointments based on each member's preferences.

Posted on July 22, 2011, in Networking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

