Early social networks: CB radios

Recently I drove across the state of Tennessee on my way to Memphis and passed through Martin, Tennessee. I happen to have another person riding with me so that helped pass the time as we did some game planning on our business.

At one point along the way we passed a convoy of eighteen wheelers just outside of Nashville, Tennessee. For some reason I have a tendency to look into the cab at the driver and I noticed a regular recurrence. Every single one of the drivers was either on a cell phone or their CB.

Honestly, I was shocked. But really I shouldn’t have been. If you think about it truck drivers and their CBs were an early social network. And why wouldn’t they be? I certainly couldn’t do what they do in terms of driving the country alone ten hours a day.

This was just one more reminder that the human race thrives on social interaction. And in the absence of face to face interaction people will fall to the next option. That next option was once CBs and telephones. Now it is the internet.

But notice that I said in the absence of face to face interaction. Get back in front of your centers of influence and potential referral sources at GoGrabLunch.com.

About Jonathan Patrick

GoGrabLunch.com connects like-minded business professionals over face to face, one on one appointments based on each member's preferences.

Posted on September 9, 2011, in Networking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

