Sometimes you have to break

In preparation for a race event next month I ran 10k today.  You can read more about the specifics here.

If you have ever ran that kind of distance, or more, you know that usually along the way you mind just goes blank.  I call this breaking.

This is a particularly important stage for me as I just get plain bored running for an hour at a time with little distractions.  On this run my “blank” moment came at 5.24 miles.  That’s right, I had one mile left to go.  Gee thanks mind.  Couldn’t you have played along sooner?

In the absence of breaking my mind will often work through a variety of issues I am dealing with.  Like what to blog about next.  And then the correlation hit me.  In networking, just like running, you have to break.  Just in a different way.

I don’t mean that your mind should go blank when networking.  When it comes to networking I think of breaking as allowing your instincts to kick in.  Of having a set pattern of conversation you are comfortable with, so that you don’t have to force conversation.  Of being in a zone.

Do you “break” when networking?

Meet like-minded professionals, that break, at GoGrabLunch.

About Jonathan Patrick

GoGrabLunch.com connects like-minded business professionals over face to face, one on one appointments based on each member's preferences.

Posted on November 2, 2011, in Networking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

