Name badges

A few days ago Dr. Ivan Misner, Founder and Chairman of BNI, had an article on his website title “If you don’t have one, people could be avoiding you”.  He was referring to name badges.

In the video they discuss how wearing name badges can help diminish the embarrassment that comes from forgetting someone’s name.  Particularly when it comes to international connections.  Certainly there are other reasons why name badges are handy.  Among those reasons are they can help with brand development and advertising.

Occasionally I like to attend an event and actively choose to not wear a name badge.  Not, because I think they look ridiculous.  Rather I do this as a sort of networking litmus test.  If most people in the room already know me by name (without the help of a name badge), then clearly I am doing a good job of networking.  Of course if I find myself having to introduce myself more often then not, then apparently I am sitting in the office too much.

Find like-minded professionals to network with at GoGrabLunch.com

About Jonathan Patrick

GoGrabLunch.com connects like-minded business professionals over face to face, one on one appointments based on each member's preferences.

Posted on November 17, 2011, in Networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

