Who do you know?

Lunch was good.  The rapport was good.  Conversation was even good.  You have been able to understand what the other professional does for a living, and even have some ideas about how you can help their business.  In fact, you think they might be a good prospect for your business.  One problem, you don’t want to come off as “selling”.  What now?

I see this all the time with networkers.  In fact, just yesterday I caught the tail end of a conversation between two good businessmen discussing just this same issue.  The answer is quite simply…”who do you know?”.

What I love about using this technique is that it takes the focus off the prospect.  By asking the prospect who they know that could benefit from your product or service, you take the focus right off the person in front of you.  And the kicker is, you have a high likely hood of getting a referral (i.e. still some benefit) in the end.  Here’s how it might sound…

“Joe, I’ve enjoyed getting to know more about you and your business today.  In fact, I think I may have some ideas on how I can help.  Let me put some more thought into that and I’ll reach back out to your next week.  You seem to understand what it is I do and to be a really well connected person, who do you know that I should meet?”

Of course, that is just one version.  Another ending could be…

“…who do you know that could use a good (insert profession here)”

So, next time you are at a meeting and things are going well, but you feel like the opportunity is slipping away try this technique.  I can vouch for it’s effectiveness.  In fact, just this week alone I have used it twice and received two referrals.  And the best part is, what often happens is the person in front of you will say they are interested.

Build your network, increase your business, do it over lunch!

About Jonathan Patrick

GoGrabLunch.com connects like-minded business professionals over face to face, one on one appointments based on each member's preferences.

Posted on March 7, 2012, in Networking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

