How I grew my company by $16,000,000 in one year #fb #in

Today I was asked why I created GoGrabLunch.com. My reasoning was that I believed so strongly that networking, done correctly, can have a profound impact on the success of your career and business. So, I wanted people to have the opportunity to meet other professionals that could help them grow, both personally and professionally.

In fact, I can undoubtedly say that I would not be where I am today in the finance industry if it were not for my networking skills. Not only have I personally benefited, but so has the financial institution I work for.

Before I get going, let me say that our recent success is not because of me. I am just a cog in the wheel, and the real praise goes to the rest of the staff. However, our growth in 2011 can be partially attributed to some of things I brought to the table.

When I tell other professionals that our financial institution grew by 16MM in one year, they usually want to know how we did it. Sadly, there is no secret formula. It was more of a philosophical change in the way we thought. I believe that senior management was able to show a vision of where we were going to the rest of the staff, and then keep that momentum going by keeping the important things top of mind.

So, what does this have to do with networking? Well, within one particular department that I am responsible for we had tremendous growth compared to past years. What did we do differently? We got out in front of the community. We networked.

The beauty of our growth is that it almost exclusively can from referrals. I was so tied up for the better part of the year learning my new responsibilities and working with my team to “re-organize” a few items, that I didn’t have time to prospect. The good news is that I didn’t have to. My contacts keep me busy.

What’s your problem then? Business to slow for your liking? Stop hiding behind your computer and get in your prospect’s face!.

Build your network, increase your business, do it over lunch!

About Jonathan Patrick

GoGrabLunch.com connects like-minded business professionals over face to face, one on one appointments based on each member's preferences.

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Sales and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

