WOO!

We all know that others form an impression of you as a professional within the first few seconds of meeting. But how long after spending significant time with you does that impression last? How long is your Window Of Opportunity?

Often times there is talk of forming referral relationships, but then the relationship falters. One of the best ways to make sure that a new contact becomes a long term referral partner is to gain some early momentum together. This can be done in a variety of ways.

1) Stay in touch

I know this sounds rudimentary. But you would be surprised how often I connect with someone over lunch only to never hear from them again. Even after I send multiple follow-ups via phone, email, or video.

Staying top of mind with other professionals is tough these days with all the noise we all encounter. Develop a systematic approach to staying in touch with new contacts and you will see a nice return on your efforts.

2) Be first

One way I have been able to quickly cultivate new contacts into referral relationships is by looking for ways to be first to refer new business or contacts. In the weeks following making a new connection I make it a habit of trying to connect them with either other professionals they would have synergy with or even potential business prospects.

Showing that you are willing to take the first step goes a long way to building the relationship.

Build your network, increase your business, do it over lunch!

About Jonathan Patrick

GoGrabLunch.com connects like-minded business professionals over face to face, one on one appointments based on each member's preferences.

Posted on April 4, 2012, in Networking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I use a GREAT system for follow-up – I am happy to help anyone that would like to know more — just give me a call 864-621-4456 or an email: Cynthia@appreciatetosuccess.com

  2. Hmmmm – see I don’t think SendOutCards is the ONLY way to follow up (although it is an awesome tool for both personal and professional touch points). I think you need PHONE, email, text, social media, cards, gifts, and other specialty ways to follow up. To me, when you depend on just one or two media, you are cutting yourself short. Our attention spans are growing shorter and shorter and we are all DIFFERENT, email may be great for me today but in the summer I will respond better to a phone call. I see follow-up as long term and I see is as a symphony of ways.

Leave a Reply

